Phil Pendlebury

Place a file in AppData

Hi there,

I need to place a file in this folder:

C:\Users\USERNAMEl\AppData\Roaming\sberg\club\Presets\KeyCommands

The above is a Vista directory structure

For XP etc. I am not sure what the path is without checking I think it is:

C:\Users\USERNAMEl\Application Data\sberg\club\Presets\KeyCommands

Am I correct in thinking that I would place the file (in Advanced Installer) in the Application Data folder (maintaining the structure above)?

If so would it work with other systems? (XP etc.)
If so would it work with all languages?

Sorry if this seems dumb I am new to this.

:-)
Cosmin

Hi,

In order to install a file in the "Username\Application Data" folder you can use the "Application Data" folder in the "Files and Folders" page. If you need to install into a subfolder of Application Data, you must also create this subfolder in you Advanced Installer project.

Note that the "Application Data" folder in the "Files and Folders" page will be recognized on both XP and Vista platforms, no matter which language the operating system uses.

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Phil Pendlebury

Thank you for your answer.

A further question...

Is there way to tell Advanced Installer to place a file in a folder ONLY IF the folder tree already exists?

My application works on a variety of products and I need top place file in a certain folder depending on whether they have it installed or not.

For Example:

...AppData\Roaming\sberg\A\Presets\KeyCommands\*MYFILE*
...AppData\Roaming\sberg\B\Presets\KeyCommands\*MYFILE*
...AppData\Roaming\sberg\C\Presets\KeyCommands\*MYFILE*
...AppData\Roaming\sberg\D\Presets\KeyCommands\*MYFILE*

The user's computer only has the folder:

...AppData\Roaming\sberg\B\Presets\KeyCommands\

So I would in that case only want to put my file there NOT CREATING all the other folders.

Thanks for a wonderful product.

Cosmin

Hi,