totally
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:43 pm

http request error

Hello,

i am using version 6.6. I have a problem with only one customer installation. The User klicks on the update button then the update with option /checknow is initiated. The update window occurs an shows the user the right update version. When the user is clicking on the next button then the update is not copied and there comes only error message "Wrong Filesize".

We used Microsoft Network Monitor to see the traffic. But after the tcp call to the updates.txt nothing more happens. Can we get a debug version to see what advanced installer is doing in this process? This would be very helpful. Or maybe you can tell me what he is doing. Does he copy the .msi file? On which protocoll does this work? How is the filesize-check working? Maybe he shows wrong filesize because no file can be found on the update server. I can not determine this if i do not know this options.

But we could determine one problem but we are not sure if it is. If we delete the install file on the update server then advanced installer is also running but does only show "Wrong Filesize" message again. Avanced installer doesn't really check if the installer file exists on the location of the update server or am i wrong?

Thanks for your help.

best regards,

Christian
Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact: Website

Re: http request error

Hi Christian,

This usually happens when the URL of the update is incorrect. The client with the problem can try testing the URL in Internet Explorer to see if it works.
But after the tcp call to the updates.txt nothing more happens. Can we get a debug version to see what advanced installer is doing in this process?
After the Updater reads the updates configuration file, it determines if updates are available. If there are updates, it accesses their URLs.
Avanced installer doesn't really check if the installer file exists on the location of the update server or am i wrong?
The presence of the update is checked. If the update is missing or it cannot be accessed or it has an incorrect URL in the updates configuration file, the error with the size will be shown.

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
totally
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: http request error

Hello Cosmin,

i could determine the error a bit more. If i copy my msi-file and the updates.txt to the customer it seems to get corrupt. If the customer presses the update-button then there comes the error, file must begin with ";aiu;". If i create the updates.txt file on the customer server by myself with notepad and copy the information into it, then accessing updates.txt is no problem. The update-window occurs. I checked the security tab on the files. There is no difference between my copied file and the local created file.

I think the same happens with my created msi-installer file. But i can not create it manually at the customer server to see if this is what is going wrong. Do you have any ideas about that?

It would be very helpful for me if update meachnism who checks and copies the file would write a detailed log-file.

Best regards,

Christian
Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact: Website

Re: http request error

Hi Christian,
If the customer presses the update-button then there comes the error, file must begin with ";aiu;".
This means that the updates configuration file does not exist at the specified URL.

I'm not sure why your client is encountering this behavior, but the URLs your using for the Updater should be tested in Internet Explorer on the machine with the problem. If the URLs work this way, the Updater should also work correctly. Note that the problem may be caused by a firewall which prevents the Updater from retrieving the update.
It would be very helpful for me if update meachnism who checks and copies the file would write a detailed log-file.
I'm afraid this is not supported by the Updater.

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
totally
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: http request error

Hello Cosmin,

thats the strangest behavior. The urls are working fine in the internet explorer. The updates.txt and also the msi-file can be accessed. I do not know how to solve the problem. If i would knew how the update calls the msi file within your code, maybe i could see what the difference is between calling the file on the internet explorer and how the ai does it. There must be a difference.

Also you are talking about firewall. Maybe you are using an other port than port 80 within your code? Please tell me.

best regards,

Christian
Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact: Website

Re: http request error

Hi Christian,
If i would knew how the update calls the msi file within your code, maybe i could see what the difference is between calling the file on the internet explorer and how the ai does it. There must be a difference.
The Updater accesses the URL of the update and then downloads it, just like Internet Explorer does. After the update is downloaded, the Updater verifies the integrity of the package and then launches it. If the size of the downloaded package is not the same as the size specified in the updates configuration file, the error message is shown. Basically, the only difference is that the Updater verifies the update.
Maybe you are using an other port than port 80 within your code?
The Updater uses the proxy settings from Internet Explorer. If Internet Explorer downloads the update when it accesses its URL, the Updater should do the same.

Does this problem occur on other machines? If so, can you please send us the INI installed next to the updater and the updates configuration file to support at advancedinstaller dot com so we can investigate them?

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
totally
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: http request error

Hello Cosmin,

thanks for your reply. So i see it can't be the updater that causes the error. I will advice the customer to check his network settings once more. But we already checked a lot of options there. I hope we will find a solution. If not i will follow your suggestion. In any case i will post the information.

best regards,

Christian
totally
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: http request error

Hello Cosmin,

we can not find any problem in our network configuration. So i created a small code snippet that should do what you are doing within your code. My one is working fine at the customer. What are the differences to yours? Maybe we will find the problem this way:

Code: Select all

' Set your settings
    strFileURL = "http://Myserver/Updatesite/Myprogram.msi"
    strHDLocation = "Myprogram.msi"
 
' Fetch the file
    Set objXMLHTTP = CreateObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP")
 
    objXMLHTTP.open "GET", strFileURL, false
    objXMLHTTP.send()
 
    If objXMLHTTP.Status = 200 Then
      Set objADOStream = CreateObject("ADODB.Stream")
      objADOStream.Open
      objADOStream.Type = 1 'adTypeBinary
 
      objADOStream.Write objXMLHTTP.ResponseBody
      objADOStream.Position = 0    'Set the stream position to the start
 
      Set objFSO = Createobject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
        If objFSO.Fileexists(strHDLocation) Then objFSO.DeleteFile strHDLocation
      Set objFSO = Nothing
 
      objADOStream.SaveToFile strHDLocation
      objADOStream.Close
      Set objADOStream = Nothing
    End if
 
    Set objXMLHTTP = Nothing
Do you use any other way maybe an other port or something like that? It is really very urgent that i can solve this problem.

best regards,

Christian
Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact: Website

Re: http request error

Hi,

Perhaps an incorrect configuration file was downloaded on the machine with the problem. You can try deleting the Updater downloads folder (it was set in the "Updater" page of the package project) and checking for updates again.
So i created a small code snippet that should do what you are doing within your code. My one is working fine at the customer. What are the differences to yours?
The Updater code is more advanced and it uses the Internet Explorer API and proxy settings. Try deleting the updates folders. If the behavior is the same and the problem is not encountered by other users, most likely there's something wrong with the machine.

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”