kukishin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:57 am

Office 2013 Installer Issue

Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:12 am

Hello

I hope you all are doing well :)

We have created an unattended Office 2013 Installer with specific parameters and tested running the setup.exe office installer.

We created an EXE Installer using Advanced Installer because we need some logic for the detection and install.

That logic is part of a custom action within an inline VbsCript which then creates a Win32_Process Instance to trigger the Office 2013 setup.exe with the specific parameters we want.

But then we faced an installer error indicating like an installation is in progress and it cant continue. When I open the Task Manager I see 2 Instances of MSIEXEC one of Office and the other one is from Advanced Installer Bootstrapper.

"we're sorry it looks like another installation is running"

If I copy and run the inline script the installation gets succeeded.

Do you think a better way to accomplish this? or to workaround this double instance issue?

Thank you very much in advance.

Best regards

Sorin
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: Office 2013 Installer Issue

Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:12 am

Hello and welcome to our forums,

This issue comes from a limitation of Windows Installer - it cannot run two installation at the same time. I would recommend using our Prerequisites support for your EXE. In this way, our EXE bootstrapper will run the two installations one after the other.

Should there be any difficulty implementing something, please let me know and I will gladly assist.

Best regards,
Sorin
Sorin Stefan - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

kukishin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:57 am

Re: Office 2013 Installer Issue

Tue Oct 03, 2017 5:44 pm

Hello

And thanks for your reply.

That could be a valid approach for this, but I dot have another question for it.....

What if I need to execute the Advanced Installer with a Parameter and pass-trough that parameter to the MSI that I will put as pre-requisites post install?

Will that be doable? do you have an advice for that?

Thanks so much in advance.

Best regards

Sorin
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: Office 2013 Installer Issue

Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:50 am

Hello,

Yes, this can be done in the following way:

- go to the "Prerequisites" page of your main project, select the prerequisite and go to "Setup Files" tab.
- in all the three fields of the "Install Command Lines" section enter a command like, for example :

Code: Select all

EDIT=[PARAMETER]
-build the project

When you will launch the main installation from command line with a command like

Code: Select all

main.msi PARAMETER="hello"
this value ("hello") will be passed to the EDIT property of the prerequisite.

Best regards,
Sorin
Sorin Stefan - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

kukishin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:57 am

Re: Office 2013 Installer Issue

Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:51 pm

Thank you very much! It was exactly what I was looking for.

Sorin
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: Office 2013 Installer Issue

Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:48 am

Hello,

You are welcome!

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Best regards,
Sorin
Sorin Stefan - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Building Installers”