Is automatic product key entry possible?

Request new features that you would like to see in the next version of Advanced Installer.
Post Reply
noobydoo
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:24 pm

Is automatic product key entry possible?

Post by noobydoo » Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:37 pm

I wanted to know if i had company licensed software, and I wanted to install without having to always plug in the serial was possible via having the code already entered using Advanced Installer in anyway. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Bogdan
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Is automatic product key entry possible?

Post by Bogdan » Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:49 am

Hi,

Yes, this can be done very easy if the serial is saved in a registry value for example. You can use a registry search, from the Search page, to retrieve it and then
use the name of the search, which is actually a public property, in a Property set wit Formatted predefined custom action to set the property attached to your
UI control in which the serial is entered.

Regards,
Bogdan
Bogdan Mitrache - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

nicute
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 6:23 am

Re: Is automatic product key entry possible?

Post by nicute » Tue May 29, 2012 6:26 am

Hi,
Regarding the same question,

Can you possibly give an simple instruction?

Thanks in advance

Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Is automatic product key entry possible?

Post by Cosmin » Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:36 pm

Hi,

The best approach is using the Convert EXE to MSI project type. It allows you to create an MSI wrapper over existing installers (for example the one you want to automate). In this MSI you can create a search which retrieves the license key. The search property can then be used in the existing installer command line (if it supports it).

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Post Reply