Choose wich installer to use

Request new features that you would like to see in the next version of Advanced Installer.
HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:52 pm

Hi,

It will be great if you teachme how i can creat this idea, choose wich installer to use in One Project

i give you a example:

Image



Thanks, and sorry for my bad englich

Eusebiu
Posts: 3948
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby Eusebiu » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:34 am

Hi and welcome to Advanced Installer forums.

In order to achieve this, you can follow the steps from the "Creating Suite Installations" tutorial.

Let me know if this helped, otherwise give me more details about your scenario.

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:35 pm

Thx for reply, I try and I let you know

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:47 pm

3. Add your setup packages

The first step is to add the packages in the project, this you do from “Prerequisites“ page, where you need to add each package as a “Feature-based“ prerequisite. This will result in having a new feature created for each package in Organization page. By setting conditions on the features (explained later in this tutorial) you will be able to control which applications get installed or not.

Image

After you add the packages, you can select each one of them and continue configuring it from the right side pane. There you have three tabs, “Properties“, “Setup Files“ and “Install Conditions“. Each of these tabs contains important settings that you must define.

In “Properties“ tab you must define the name of your package an other related information. In “Setup Files“ there is a very important area that needs to be customized, that is the “Install Command Lines“. These command line get passed to your packages when the bundle installer will execute them. The most important thing is to set the application to install silently, this is easy. For MSI packages the command line is /qn and for EXE packages built with Advanced Installer it is /exenoui /qn.

In the below image you can see a set of the command lines used. It starts with the "/qn" option to specify this is a silent installation, then sets the property APPDIR with the value of the parent installation folder, and at the end it sets another property from the installer, that is configured to store a port number in this example.

http://www.advancedinstaller.com/img/tutorial/suite-installations/install-command-lines.png

In “Install Conditions" tab you must select the option "Always install prerequisite" for all packages, be it MSI or EXE.


1/ I don't want to do a silent installation.
2/ I don't understand how to do this command line

Image


NB: this is my project example:

Image



Thx

Eusebiu
Posts: 3948
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby Eusebiu » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:03 am

Hi,

Those command lines are necessary in a scenario where all the applications are installed silently under the same parent folder. However, if you do not need this, you can remove all the arguments from the "Install Command Lines" fields.

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:53 pm

Image

My question is that I do not know what to write in its boxes

I have to copy and paste the 3 codes like on screenshot?

Thx

Eusebiu
Posts: 3948
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby Eusebiu » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:09 am

Hi,

Those fields are optional, you do not need to write anything there, you can let them empty. For more details please take a look on the "Prerequisite Setup Files Tab" article.

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:50 am

Can you answer to my question?

Please

lamboo123
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:12 am

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby lamboo123 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:16 am

Do you found any solution for the above query. I am also confused now.

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:02 am

No not yet :( :( :( :(

HICHEM TIGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby HICHEM TIGS » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:12 am

:?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Eusebiu
Posts: 3948
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Choose wich installer to use

Postby Eusebiu » Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:02 am

Hi,

I thought I've already answered to your question. You do not need to write anything to those fields. Is there anything I missed? Do you have another question?

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest