Here is a example:
You are using git or svn to store your project files, including the aip project.
You are working on a Project A. You move a custom dialog to the repository, as you plan to use this dialog into other projects like Project G, K or V.
1- If you fork this project A into Project B (or A V2), and make changes to the same dialog in project B, you must not push it into the repository, as you could overwrite the repository dialog by mistake and affect Project A dialog.
2- Also, changes to Project A dialog should no longer be pushed into the repository, as it would affect the Project B directly (a new field in project A and uploaded to the repository would directly show in project B).
The only way to fully split the Projects dialogs is to move the project B dialog into the repository under a new name, thus making 1 dialog per project.
The "Move to repository" is a non-reversible operation in Advanced installer, and once you have saved your project, you cannot go back to the original, unless you have good backups of the project. So It would either need some warnings that it is a non-reversible operation, or we should have the option to copy the dialog from the repository back into the project, to no longer rely on the repository (to fully separate Project A and Project B dialogs).
Also, the Move to repository operation create new translations strings for already translated strings, which further affect the project translations, again, being a non-reversible operation.
I understand that the repository can have some versioning management on his own (different dialogs names), but I think that we are still missing some warnings about this "Move to" operation, as there is no "Move back" available.