Dear Advanced Installer Support Team,
One of our customer reported the following problem: if they do a product upgrade (so not a clean install), then sometimes the explorer.exe is stopped by our installer, hence the users see a completely black screen until our installer is running. This is something the users don´t like at all. They would prefer to have a system restart at the end of the installer.
The customer also sent us 2 logfiles: one was created during an upgrade, and another one was created during a clean install.
Also they said, they have noticed that the "black screen comes" more likely if they also apply a transform (mst) file for the installation.
Indeed, we have a feature which is co-operating with the explorer.exe, so we can imagine if that feature is installed in the "old/base" product and then they install a newer version of our product, then the installer can replace the files only if the explorer.exe is being killed and then re-started.
Can we do something against this behavior? Can we make sure that the customer will not see a black screen - not even temporarily?
I´m sending the logfiles attached.