icke_qps
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:26 am

Error during installation: `Could not load cabinet in stream`.

Tue Jun 06, 2023 12:05 pm

Hi,

I am currently doing maintenance on the installer package a product. Whenever I try to install the resulting installer, I get the following error:
AI error.png
AI error.png (14.66KiB)Viewed 5238 times
On the production branches of this product I do not see this problem, while these branches include the exact same merge modules.

The change I made on the feature branch does not seem to be related either, I am adding a chained installer to the project.

The installer package is around 2.1Gb and contains multiple custom actions and merge modules.

Any help here is appreciated!
Best regards,

Peter

Catalin
Posts: 6088
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Error during installation: `Could not load cabinet in stream`.

Thu Jun 08, 2023 12:13 pm

Hello Peter,

So this error occurs when you are trying to add this Merge Module in your project?

Are you able to reproduce this on a sample project, perhaps - e.g. if you create a new project and add the merge module there.

If so, could you please share with us the following:

- the merge module

- the Advanced Installer project that builds the merge module

by email at support at advancedinstaller dot com so I can run some tests on my end?

I'm asking this because I can not really pinpoint the root cause of this error, as the causes may vary.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

icke_qps
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:26 am

Re: Error during installation: `Could not load cabinet in stream`.

Thu Jun 08, 2023 12:28 pm

Hi Catalin,

I did already send all AIP files that I maintain.

The `MSMQernelSymbolization` merge module is built using VisualStudio. I will send both the project and msm file.

Please note, that the cause does not seem to be in the `MSMQernelSymbolization` merge module, as our production branch builds a working MSI, using the exact same `MSMQernelSymbolization.msm` file.

I will also try to update to the latest Advanced Installer version, to see if this fixes this problem.

Kind regards,
Peter

Catalin
Posts: 6088
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Error during installation: `Could not load cabinet in stream`.

Fri Jun 09, 2023 9:57 am

Hello Peter,

Thank you very much for the provided files!

Let's continue the thread over the email for now.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”