emjoi

Typical-Custom-Complete

I'm new to the Installer, so forgive me if my questions are obvious.

I have a collection of Java and straight C++ apps that I want to install.
I'd like to give the use the option to choose which ones to install. (And the ability to easily disable some, but that's another sotry)

I can add a "Choose Setup Type" dialog to the procedure, but I just cant figure out where I indicate what's to be listed in the "Custom" option.
And where do I say what's "Typical"?

thanks
Cata

Hello,

You should use the Organization panel to organize your product into features. For each feature you can specify its install level (Typical or Complete). You can select which components go into each feature.

Regards,
Cata
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
emjoi

Okay,
I hit on the "Organisation" section and it makes sense.
You have to pre-organise your files into folders for it to work. You can't just pick individual files.

I am using the Java Products section to generate executables. They all use the same main Jar file, but with different entry points. Makes sense because they have alot of overlapping code.
But these are then Hardwired into TARGETDIR. I can't put then into separate folders so that they can be separted off into different Features.

And the Application Shortcut Folder.... how do I selectively choose what to put in there?

- Sorry. I'm new, and it's not entirely making sense to me yet.
emjoi

Nope. What I typed below doesn't work. When the installer is run I hit upon "The folder path 'thingie\JavaThing.ini' contains an invalid character."
It doesn't like the '\'.
I'll have to try something else.

Replying to myself as I figure things out.
So, when you create a "Java Product" it's name can include a folder path...
so a name like "thingie\JavaThing" will make a java app called "JavaThing" within the folder "thingie".

This can then be dragged into Feature in Organization.