"Source file not found:"

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Post Reply
z9yfncbw2f
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:25 pm

"Source file not found:"

Post by z9yfncbw2f » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:49 pm

Hello!

Problem description:
  • Installers that we are make can produce errors when run.
    The errors are "Source file not found".
    The errors occur for installers made by different people, on different computers, of different sources, for different products, based on different technologies (win32 vs .Net).
    The errors are not systematic for a given installer.
    Some end users see them almost all of the time. Some end users never see them.
    Sometimes running the installer twice in a row it will work the second time when it had failed the first.
    Sometimes rebooting allows it to work when it has failed once.
    Sometimes right clicking and running as administrator it works (note that our installers all require administrator privileges to run).
How to reproduce:
Heck if I know! We just make installers, you know? They have requirements that we include. The files that are declared missing are in the installers. I do not know if they are actually in the folders that the installers say they're not in - I don't have access to end user computers! Right. Anyway, to reproduce we just run the installers. On some computers. By some people. Sometimes!
Dev machines are win10 64 bit. Installers end up being 150MB to 600MB. Target machines are generally win10 64 bit.

Environment:
I'll email, I suppose, one of the aip files as well as a log...

Daniel
Posts: 7849
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by Daniel » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:55 pm

Hello and welcome to our forums,

Unfortunately this error is a generic one and it can have multiple causes. Here are some scenarios when this error can occur:

1. during a patch installation. To avoid this error during a patch install you can build EXE setup packages and enable the "Do not delete extracted MSI and CAB files" option from "Builds" page -> "Configuration" tab.
2. during an upgrade installation if you are building EXE setup packages and use the same extraction path for all versions of your setup. In this case you should make sure that each version of your EXE setup has a different extract location; just go to "Builds" page -> "Configuration" tab and set in the "Extract location" field a path including the "ProductVersion" property reference, for instance:

Code: Select all

[AppDataFolder][|Manufacturer]\[|ProductName] [|ProductVersion]\install
3. when the setup package is built with a specific language code page (of the project language) and the installation runs on a system with a different language including unknown characters for the setup language; for instance if the setup files extraction path includes a character which doesn't belong to the current setup language codepage, the the WIndows Installer service won't succeed to process the related path, thus the above error will be thrown; to avoid this situation you can go to "Builds" page -> "Configuration" tab and under the "Database Encoding" section select the "UTF-8" encoding type
4. when on current machine there is an Antivirus program which blocks the installation process; there are situations when an antivirus program falsely detect the installation process as a malware and blocks it; in this cases you can ask your customer to add an exception for your setup package in the Antivirus exception list or to temporarily disable the antivirus during the setup installation
5. when you are using an EXE package type and the installation files were not extracted before the installation reaches file copy action; check the "Installer stuck on "Extracting files from archive"" topic for more details and a workaround

If you have further questions let us know.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

z9yfncbw2f
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by z9yfncbw2f » Wed May 03, 2017 2:52 pm

Daniel,
Did you get my email update of yesterday (with logs and project)? I have a client that is having the same issue. This time it is a Windows 7 64 machine. I've applied all 4 of your solutions (although I'm not doing an upgrade or patch) and still have the error.
Thx

Daniel
Posts: 7849
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by Daniel » Thu May 04, 2017 9:54 am

Hello Charles,

Yes, we received your email.

After analyzing your sent files it seems there is a problem with the installation files extraction at install time. A possible solution is to set the setup to extract the installation files from the setup whet it is launched. This can be achieved by going in "Install Parameters" page and set the "ExtractFilesFirst" property to value 1 like this:
  • Name: ExtractFilesFirst
    Value: 1

By default, our EXE bootstrapper extracts the embedded installation files asynchronous. When you run the setup the files are extracted at the same time you are going through the installation process. If the installation reaches the file copy action and the files aren't yet extracted you may encounter this issue.

More details are found in "Installer stuck on "Extracting files from archive"" topic.

Let us know if this helped.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

z9yfncbw2f
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by z9yfncbw2f » Thu May 04, 2017 2:42 pm

Thanks Daniel - you're my new favorite software vendor. I'll let you know how that works out.

z9yfncbw2f
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by z9yfncbw2f » Thu May 04, 2017 4:11 pm

Daniel!

We're closer! It looks like it probably worked! We still, however, got a few error messages...

Client says...
"It looks promising. So, I ran this file and it went further this time. The installer still gave me an error message but looks like it installed.
first.jpg
first.jpg (24.39 KiB) Viewed 5268 times
[as soon as the mouse went into the area of the dialog box it disappeared - there was no opportunity to click on 'details']
I clicked "Finish". Got window with the reminder about restarting the computer and clicked "No".
Got another error message:
sec.jpg
sec.jpg (71.8 KiB) Viewed 5268 times
"

I kind of doubt that I'll be able to get this guy to try another installation (ha!) but I would be interested in hearing your opinion on what's going on. Perhaps I'll make another installer for future users...

thx

Daniel
Posts: 7849
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by Daniel » Fri May 05, 2017 11:18 am

Hello Charles,

The above error is not related with the workaround I suggested you. This is an UI error. This kind of error is thrown by the installer UI when an UI control is not correctly rendered on the current machine. Unfortunately we cannot investigate them because almost every time this is a sporadic error and on a second setup launch the error cannot be replicated at all. Usually on a subsequent try everything works as expected. :|

We've just add a major improvement in our setup UI feature and starting with the next version (14.0) of Advanced Installer we hope this kind of UI errors will never occur.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

z9yfncbw2f
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by z9yfncbw2f » Mon May 08, 2017 2:32 pm

Gotcha. Thx.

Daniel
Posts: 7849
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by Daniel » Tue May 09, 2017 8:55 am

You're welcome.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

DIVYA161
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:22 am

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by DIVYA161 » Sat May 11, 2019 11:26 am

I am facing the below issue while installing UFT 14.5. Please help me to solve the problem.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (24.06 KiB) Viewed 1131 times

Catalin
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: "Source file not found:"

Post by Catalin » Mon May 13, 2019 1:56 pm

Hello and welcome to Advanced Installer forums,

Have you tried the workaround that my colleague Daniel has suggested above?

The workaround would be to go to "Install Parameters" page and add the following property to your project:

Name: ExtractFilesFirst
Value: 1


Hope this helps.

However, If that does not help, please forward me the following by e-mail at support at advancedinstaller dot com:

- a copy of your .AIP file used to build the setup
- a download link for the setup that reproduces this behavior

All the best,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Post Reply