ruturaaj

[RESOLVED] How to clear/uninstall errorneous Installer?

Hello,

Scenario
I'm new to Advanced Installer and recently created an installation setup for one of our application. This application needs to install Windows Shell Menu extension. We have written the extension registration utility, which is included in the application installation setup. I used Custom Actions and set this utility to run with required command line arguments just before the Finish screen is shown. Same is done for the Uninstall; the utility is executed just after "Preparing" to uninstall the Shell Extension.

Problem
I think there is some problem in the way command line arguments passed to the registration utility, as a result of which Installation setup installed application with error.

So, I tried to Uninstall the application from Control Panel. However same erroneous command line arguments are passed to the registration utility at the time of Uninstall as well, and so Uninstall fails, rolls back and eventually the application is not uninstalled.

I tried to changed the version number and make a new installer with improved code for Custom Actions, in anticipation that it will overwrite the current installation. But it prompts me that another version of application is already installed and so attempts to uninstall the existing application and eventually fails with the same error as mentioned in the paragraph above.

Need Help...
Can someone please tell me how can I manually remove this installation so I can test my new installer? Also, what is the best work-flow of making and testing installation setup to avoid this situation in future?

Waiting for your reply...

Thanks!

Ruturaaj.
Last edited by ruturaaj on Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daniel

Re: How to clear/uninstall errorneous Installer?

Hello Ruturaaj,

Thank you for using Advanced Installer.