wopms6

Install SQL express 2014 with configuration file

Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:24 am

Hi there,
I am new to Advanced Installer and it's been a week now trying to figure our how to add SQL express 2014 to be installed with my vb.net app along with configuration file but no success. I found different information on the internet but i couldn't find a step by step video on how to do it and what parameters to put.

Would you explain/show me how to achieve this?
I already downloaded SQLEXPRWT_x64_ENU and prepared the configuration file.
I currently use version 14.6

Thanks.

Catalin

Re: Install SQL express 2014 with configuration file

Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:08 am

Hello and welcome to our forums,

What you are trying to do here is to actually add SQL Express 2014 as a prerequisite for your vb.net application.

This is a step-by-step explaination on how you can achieve that:

1) Presuming that you have added all the other files, we can continue with configuring the SQL Express 2014 as a prerequisite. First thing you have to do is to go to "Prerequisites" page from the "Requirements" group.

2) Now add your prerequisite as a "Pre-Install" prerequisite. In order to achieve this, right click on "Pre-Install" -> "New Package Prerequisite" -> select your SQL Express 2014 package. Please keep in mind that "Pre-Install" prerequisites are handled by our EXE boostraper, so the build will automatically convert to "Single EXE setup (resources inside)" package type.
2.1) I would suggest that you use our predefined prerqeuisites since they are already tested and well configured.