License error

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Post Reply
berqo127
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:35 pm

License error

Post by berqo127 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:42 pm

Hi,

Using Advanced installer build extension for Azure pipeline yield error -
"This type of project requires an enterprise license. You may use it for evaluation purposes ONLY. Advanced Installer has a trial period of 30 days. After the trial expires, licensed projects can still be created, but they cannot be built to generate an installation package. Days left in your trial period: 0."

even though there is a license and I don't get this error using the advanced installer editor.

Thanks,
Shlomi

Daniel
Posts: 8142
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: License error

Post by Daniel » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:14 pm

Hello Shlomi,

This may happen if you did not specify your Advanced Installer license key to be used in the "License Key" field of your Advanced Installer build task of your Azure DevOps pipeline.

Could you please double check this?

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ionut.boronea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: License error

Post by ionut.boronea » Wed Oct 14, 2020 4:40 pm

Hello,

I'm getting the same error but with the license key specified.

This type of project requires an enterprise license. You may use it for evaluation purposes ONLY. Advanced Installer has a trial period of 30 days. After the trial expires, licensed projects can still be created, but they cannot be built to generate an installation package. Days left in your trial period: 0.
##[error]Failed to execute Advanced Installer task. Error: SetOutputLocation -path "D:\a\1\a\Setup File" -buildname "DefaultBuild"

The task:
- task: AdvancedInstaller@2
inputs:
advinstLicense: '$(AILicense)'
aipPath: 'Installer.aip'
aipBuild: 'DefaultBuild'
aipOutputFolder: '$(Build.ArtifactStagingDirectory)\Setup File'

Thanks,
Ionut

Catalin
Posts: 3394
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: License error

Post by Catalin » Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:00 pm

Hello Ionut,

Could you please make sure that your project is not of "Enterprise" type?

You can do so by opening your project --> "Home" tab --> "Options":
HomeOptions.png
HomeOptions.png (133.45 KiB) Viewed 266 times
Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ionut.boronea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: License error

Post by ionut.boronea » Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:04 pm

Hello Catalin,

The project is of type "Enterprise" but the license is also an Enterprise license.
You can't use an enterprise type project with Azure DevOps?

Thank you.

ionut.boronea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: License error

Post by ionut.boronea » Mon Oct 19, 2020 5:30 pm

So can I get an answer?
Thanks.

Catalin
Posts: 3394
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: License error

Post by Catalin » Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:39 pm

Hello Ionut,

Please accept my apologies for the delayed reply.
You can't use an enterprise type project with Azure DevOps?
Azure DevOps should work just fine with the Enterprise project. Could you please make sure that there is no typo in the License Key you have provided?

Also, if you used the copy-paste mechanism, could you please make sure that there is no empty character at either the beginning or the end of the string?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ionut.boronea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: License error

Post by ionut.boronea » Thu Oct 22, 2020 8:26 pm

Hello Catalin,

Thank you for your reply.
There is no issue with the license. The only thing that might influence this is the maintenance which is expired.
Is this possible?
Also, is it possible that there might be another error but this one is displayed?

Thank you.

Catalin
Posts: 3394
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: License error

Post by Catalin » Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:22 pm

Hello Ionut,
The only thing that might influence this is the maintenance which is expired.
This indeed could be a problem if you did not mention the Advanced Installer version covered by your Maintenance Plan:

https://www.advancedinstaller.com/user- ... section643

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ionut.boronea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:14 pm

Re: License error

Post by ionut.boronea » Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:43 pm

Hello Catalin,

Thank you for your help.
This was indeed the issue.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
Ionut

Catalin
Posts: 3394
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: License error

Post by Catalin » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:32 pm

You are always welcome, Ionut!

I am glad everything works as expected now.

You have a great day, too!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Post Reply