nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

I'm having issues with a custom action. That custom action simply prompt the user if the .net version detected is not equal or superior to the .net version my software needs.
I'm aware that I can use launch conditions to re-create that behavior but i'd rather leave the user the option to dismiss the message and go on with the installation because he might not be using the subset of my solution that actually requires the said .net version.
In any case, here is what my lauch condition look like :
dotnet-custom-action.png
dotnet-custom-action.png (96.91 KiB) Viewed 4973 times



and here is the result on a target machine :




dotnet-version.png
dotnet-version.png (60.99 KiB) Viewed 4973 times
As you can see, AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is 4.6.2 here but the command line tool (available here : https://github.com/jmalarcon/DotNetVersions) shows me i have a 4.8 version of .net installed thus making my custom action trigger unnecessarily.
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

The way we receive the .NET Framework version is from the registry. Here is the key that we are looking for:

Code: Select all

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full\Release
Could you please open registry editor, navigate to that key, take a screenshot and forward it to me?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Here it is.
net.png
net.png (61.33 KiB) Viewed 4607 times
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

Thank you for the provided screenshot.

However, please note that I have asked about the "Full" key, not the "Client" key.

Could you please select that, take a screenshot and post it here?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Sorry about the misunderstanding.

Here it is.
full.png
full.png (50.34 KiB) Viewed 4600 times
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

Thank you very much for the screenshot.

It looks like the 4.8 version of .NET Framework is indeed installed.

If possible, could you please check the same key, but from the WOW6432Node?

I am thinking that maybe your setup is of 32-bit ("Install Parameters" page --> "Package Type") and the search is being redirected to the WOW6432Node. Please post of a screenshot of that as well.

Additionally, could you please create an installation log using the AI_DEBUGLOG=1 parameter and forward that to me so I can further investigate this? The command line would look like this:

Code: Select all

msiexec /i <path_to_msi> AI_DEBUGLOG=1 /L*V <path_to_log>
if your setup is an MSI and:

Code: Select all

setup.exe AI_DEBUGLOG=1 /L*V <path_to_log>
if the setup is an EXE.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

thank you for your answers.

here is the syswow screenshot
syswow.png
syswow.png (54.08 KiB) Viewed 4584 times
and here is a proof that our installer is indeed configured as a 32bit one
32.png
32.png (6.96 KiB) Viewed 4584 times
I also have the log file you asked for but i'm not comfortable sharing that on a public forum. any email I could send that to?
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

Thank you for the provided screenshot. Based on it, it looks like the correct version should be detected.
I also have the log file you asked for but i'm not comfortable sharing that on a public forum. any email I could send that to?
Sure thing, please forward me the log file by e-mail at support at advancedinstaller dot com.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

email sent
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Did you get my email?
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

Please accept my apologies for the delayed reply (we had few days off - National Holidays).

I've had a look over the e-mail and it looks like the e-mail is not received.

Could you please try to resend it?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

I've just re-sent it.
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

I have answered you over the e-mail.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
nwillig
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:38 pm

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

I've sent you the AIP as well, do you have any updates?
Catalin
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: AI_DETECTED_DOTNET_VERSION value is wrong

Hello,

I have replied to your e-mail.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”