gru
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 5:45 pm

[SOLVED]Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Thu Mar 04, 2021 6:15 pm

Update: This is fixed with Version 18.1

***********************************************

Hello,

i am currently developing a project with professional licence and AI Version 18.0 (1A235518).

I am using different build definitions to produce setups for Test and Production environments.
This works great for the product name, installation folder etc.
But if i try to pass the build name to the jvm parameter in my java product i get just a blank or empty string.

This is the value of the jvm parameters, like its seen in the AI Application:

Code: Select all

-Xms256:1:1200P -Xmx1024:2:1200P -Dspring.profiles.active="[AI_BUILD_NAME]" 
This is the output of my application which prints the specific argument:

Code: Select all

spring.profiles.active = 
It works and passes correctly if i set the value manually:

Code: Select all

-Xms256:1:1200P -Xmx1024:2:1200P -Dspring.profiles.active=Test 
output:

Code: Select all

spring.profiles.active = Test
It also works if i a use a different property, like the product name (which uses AI_BUILD_NAME):

Code: Select all

-Xms256:1:1200P -Xmx1024:2:1200P -Dspring.profiles.active="[ProductName]"
output:

Code: Select all

spring.profiles.active = SomeClient-Test
It seems like this specific propertie´s value just is not there.
Unfortunately we need this to work to make usage of the build feature. Otherwise we still would have to maintain two different aip files.

All the best, gru
Last edited by gru on Tue Mar 23, 2021 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Catalin
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Mon Mar 08, 2021 7:44 pm

Hello Gru and welcome to our forums,

I have tested this behavior and I was indeed able to reproduce the described issue.

Unfortunately, as for this moment, I can not really say why this is happening - I will have to consult with our development team.

As soon as I will have an answer from them, I will update this thread.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Catalin
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:32 pm

Hello Gru,

I have discussed this with our development team and it looks like that property was removed from the project a long time ago.

Even though it appears in the suggested list when you type its' name, it is no longer inserted in the MSI database, therefore also not resolved at install time.

We will check why it was initially removed and will try to bring it back in the project.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

gru
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 5:45 pm

Re: Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Tue Mar 09, 2021 5:44 pm

Hello Catalin,

thank you for your response and information.
Hopefully you can bring it back.

All the best,
gru

Catalin
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Tue Mar 09, 2021 7:13 pm

You are always welcome, Gru!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

gru
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 5:45 pm

Re: [SOLVED]Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Tue Mar 23, 2021 6:04 pm

Just installed 18.1 and it works now.
Perfect timing, because i need to introduce an new environment right now.

Thanks for your support.
All the best, Gerald

Catalin
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: [SOLVED]Property [AI_BUILD_NAME] not working within JVM Parameters

Tue Mar 23, 2021 6:40 pm

You are always welcome, Gerald!

I am glad I was able to assist.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”