My product includes a Windows Service to install with some default settings (actions, user account, etc.) when new service is installed.
Product upgrade to to version consist of "Remove previous version and install new version":
To my knowledge, the service will be removed upon uninstall and reinstalled again. However, administrators may use custom account and settings during application usage which I shall not overwrite upon product upgrade. Is there a way to prevent service removal/reinstall if I'm doing an upgrade? I prefer to uninstall the service only when I decide to uninstall the product completely?