SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Not installing into user input path?

Wed May 19, 2021 11:44 pm

I seem unable to install my application into any other path than the default selection:
AI_InstallFolders.jpg
AI_InstallFolders.jpg (232.29 KiB) Viewed 2976 times
AI_InstallFolders1.jpg
AI_InstallFolders1.jpg (279.29 KiB) Viewed 2976 times
I can enter a different path at my Installer Dialog but nothing gets installed at the location I specify? It always uses the default path?

Default:
AI_InstallFolders2.jpg
AI_InstallFolders2.jpg (45.69 KiB) Viewed 2976 times
User entered path:

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Wed May 19, 2021 11:48 pm

and the user entered path:
AI_InstallFolders3.jpg
AI_InstallFolders3.jpg (44.11 KiB) Viewed 2974 times
If I continue the installer ignores the path I entered "D:\Sim Horizon\Seasons" and uses the default path "C:\Program Files\Sim Horizon\Seasons"?

This is not the behavior I expected?

Cheers, Rob.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Thu May 20, 2021 5:13 pm

Hello Rob,

This might happen, during an upgrade, if the "Use original path when upgrading" option is selected in "Upgrades" page.
UseOriginalPath.png
UseOriginalPath.png (49.92 KiB) Viewed 2955 times


Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Thu May 20, 2021 11:26 pm

Hi Catalin,

Unfortunately that's not the case. I do have the "Use original installation path when upgrading" checked, HOWEVER, I'm not doing an upgrade.

Steps:
1. In my test case I do a full uninstall of my app via Control Panel.
2. Run installer for my app
3. Change install path manually (typing it in)
4. Click on install
NotUsingUserPath.jpg
NotUsingUserPath.jpg (109.75 KiB) Viewed 2954 times
It seems this option is being enforced for any type of install not just an "Upgrade".

Cheers, Rob.

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Thu May 20, 2021 11:48 pm

UPDATE:

I tested with the "User original installation path when upgrading" UNCHECKED and it still didn't install into the path I provided (typed in), used the default path.

Stuck.

Cheers, Rob.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Fri May 21, 2021 5:23 pm

Hello Rob,

This is quite strange, indeed.

Unfortunately, I was not quite able to replicate this behavior on my end using a sample project.

In order for me to further investigate this, could you please forward me the following resources:

- a copy of the .AIP file

- a download link for the older version of the setup

- a dwonload link for the newer version of the setup

- a verbose installation log

by e-mail at support at advancedinstaller dot com?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Sun May 23, 2021 1:06 am

Hi Catalin,

eMail sent with all requested items.

Here is my observation from the log (see items in red):
AIChangingAPPDIRBug.jpg
AIChangingAPPDIRBug.jpg (958.33 KiB) Viewed 2930 times
You can see from the log that APPDIR entry is being set to my input "D:\Sim Horizon\Seasons\" (line 545). BUT, line 574 the APPDIR property value gets deleted?? and line 580 it's restored back to it's default value?

Cheers, Rob.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Wed May 26, 2021 5:26 pm

Hello Rob,

Thank you for the provided resources.

I believe I found the culprit here. :)

From what I can see, you have added the "InstallTypeDlg" dialog after the "InstallDlg" dialog.

Basically, here is what happens:

- the user chooses a path in the "InstallDlg" dialog

- the path is then reset to the default one in the "InstallTypeDlg" dialog

In the above dialog, the APPDIR value is changed depending on the user's choice. For instance, a per-machine installation will install the files in a per machine location (i.e. Program Files folder) and a per-user installation will install the files in a per user location (i.e. %appdata%).

With that being said, please reverse the dialog orders and this should no longer happen (e.g. the InstallTypeDlg dialog prior the InstallDlg dialog).

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Wed May 26, 2021 6:10 pm

Hi Catalin,

No, I didn't add the "InstallTypeDlg" after the InstallDlg, AI did that when I choose to have Only Me or Everybody installation type.

There is no way for me to reverse the orders ... they don't move ... drag and drop doesn't actually move them?

I also tried to Delete the InstallTypeDlg and then re-add it above the InstallDlg and it still appeared after InstallDlg.

FYI, updated to 18.3 and same problem.

Cheers, Rob.

EDIT: I'm working with the Pro version not the Enterprise version.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Thu May 27, 2021 2:10 pm

Hello Rob,
No, I didn't add the "InstallTypeDlg" after the InstallDlg, AI did that when I choose to have Only Me or Everybody installation type.
I have further investigated this and you are indeed right.

However, I still have a solution for your case. :)

Basically, on a default project with the Surface theme, we will have three default dialogs, as it follows:
  • InstallDlg
  • ProgressDlg
  • ExitDlg
With the settings I have tested (i.e. Classic theme), there is one additional dialog --> "WelcomeDlg", this being the reaason why I was able to add the "InstallTypeDlg" before the "InstallDlg" dialog.

With that being said, please proceed as it follows in order to achieve what I have mentioned in my last thread:

- go to "Dialogs" page

- "Add dialog" --> select the "WelcomeDlg" dialog

- select "WelcomeDlg" and then click on "Add dialog" again

- now please select the "InstallTypeDlg" dialog

This time, it should be scheduled before the "InstallDlg" dialog and everything should work as expected.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Thu May 27, 2021 4:46 pm

Hi Catalin,

Thanks for getting back to me. You're suggestion worked!

Is the "by design" or a bug? The documentation seems to suggest I should be able to drag and drop the order per your original suggestion. In addition, it seems the default "Theme" is what creates this problematic "ordering" of Dialogs, assume not by design?

Appreciate your diligent support.

Cheers, Rob.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Fri May 28, 2021 11:49 am

Hello Rob,

You are always welcome!

I am really glad to hear the suggestion worked.
Is the "by design" or a bug?
Regarding your question, please note that this is "by design", not a bug.
it seems the default "Theme" is what creates this problematic "ordering" of Dialogs, assume not by design?
Here, it would be the other way around. The Classic theme has the correct order of dialogs. In the "Surface" theme, we removed the "WelcomeDlg" dialog (we thought this would look more aesthetic and also less dialogs = happier the user :) )
The documentation seems to suggest I should be able to drag and drop the order per your original suggestion.
This is indeed the case, but there are some limitations as well.

The "InstallTypeDlg" is a dialog that is triggered by a "Control Event". This can not be seen in a Professional project, since it does not have the "Dialog Editor" feature. In an "Enterprise" project, this dialog would have a "lighting" symbol on it, e.g.:
InstallTypeDlg.png
InstallTypeDlg.png (9.18 KiB) Viewed 2830 times

Dialogs that are triggered by a control event (e.g. an eventon a button) require that event to exist.
DialogEvent.png
DialogEvent.png (107.55 KiB) Viewed 2830 times


This is the reason why it did not work to reschedule the dialog at first, because there was no event to trigger it. However, by adding the "WelcomeDlg" dialog, the "Next" button of that "WelcomeDlg" dialog contains an event as the one from the screenshot above, even though it is not visible for you in a Professional project.

I hope this makes some sense!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

SimHorizon
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:11 am
Contact: Website

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Fri May 28, 2021 4:37 pm

Hi Catalin,

I'll have to disagree with you on this issue. The "Surface" theme generates a series of Dialogs that includes the ability for a user to enter their own installation path. Why would the Surface theme create the "InstallDlg" that allows for user path input if that input is going to be ignored?

I appreciate the "work-around", but conceptually that shouldn't be required, hence a bug.

Cheers, Rob.

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Not installing into user input path?

Wed Jun 02, 2021 5:45 pm

Hello Rob,

Thank you for your followup on this!

I would say this is not a bug, but I can indeed agree with you that we hit quite a strange corner case here.

I will discuss this with our development team to see if we can somehow improve this in the future.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”