m4a.c4
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:25 pm

Silent (no UI) command via CLI

Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:01 am

Hi there,

We are using Advanced Installer to install an Excel Add-in. The Installer is generated as part of our Azure Devops pipelines.

We are currently adding prerequisites to our installer in our Devops pipeline. We now have a new requirement, to make our prerequisite a silent install. How do we add the "Silent (no UI)" cmd command using the "/NewPrerequisite" option via CLI?

Thanks,
Connor

Liviu
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:29 am
Contact:  Website

Re: Silent (no UI) command via CLI

Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:40 am

Hi Connor,
How do we add the "Silent (no UI)" cmd command using the "/NewPrerequisite" option via CLI?
In order to achieve this, you can use the -cmd_line <cmd_line> argument, for example a command like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Caphyon\Advanced Installer 19.0\bin\x86\AdvancedInstaller.com" /edit "D:\Your Application.aip" /NewPrerequisite Test -type FeatureBased -cmd_line /silent -prereq_path "C:\Test.exe"

You can find more details about that command on these articles:

1. New Prerequisite Option - Command Line

2. Update Prerequisite Option - Command Line


Hope this helps! If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Liviu
________________________________________
Liviu Sandu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

m4a.c4
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:25 pm

Re: Silent (no UI) command via CLI

Tue Jan 18, 2022 8:58 pm

Hi Liviu,

From our testing, we found that the -cmd_line also affects the UI install, rather then just the no UI Silent install. We want to add a silent install (no UI) option to our Prerequisite.

Is this expected?

Thanks,
Connor

Liviu
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:29 am
Contact:  Website

Re: Silent (no UI) command via CLI

Wed Jan 19, 2022 10:25 am

Hi Connor,

Unfortunately, that is our default implementation. We have support only to add command line for all these 3 fields.

We will try to add an improvement regarding this in the future.

Thank you for your suggestion.

Best regards,
Liviu
________________________________________
Liviu Sandu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”