patrickmast
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:16 pm

How to update a Static Text via VBScript?

Hello,

I have a VBScript that makes a backup of APPDIR to a BACKUP folder. This works just fine.
Now, I'd like to put "Backing up, please wait" on the Progress-Dialog.

I tried to put a Static Text on the dialog and change it in the Backup VBScript via:
Session.Property("PROGRESSDLGTEXT_1_PROP")="test 100"

But the text does not change on the Progress-Dialog.

I also tried to put Session.DoAction("UpdateMsiEditControls") after the Session.Property("PROGRESSDLGTEXT_1_PROP")="test 100" line, but still no change.

I also tried to make a public propertie and use that to show the text and thus doing:
Session.Property("MYTEXT")="test 100", but still no luck.

What am I missing?

I use latest Advanced Installer Enterprise.

Thanks!

Patrick
GabrielBarbu
Posts: 2146
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:24 am
Contact: Website

Re: How to update a Static Text via VBScript?

Hi,

The ActionText static text on the ProgressDlg is responsible for showing the description of the currently running action. On the Custom Actions page, select your custom action and press the "Action Text" button. Input there the description for your custom action, in your case "Backing up, please wait". Leave the template empty if your custom action does not use this.

Regards,
Gabriel
Gabriel Barbu
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/
patrickmast
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: How to update a Static Text via VBScript?

Hello Gabriel,
GabrielBarbu wrote:On the Custom Actions page, select your custom action and press the "Action Text" button. Input there the description for your custom action, in your case "Backing up, please wait".
Thanks, but the "Action text" button is disabled.
How can I enable it?

This is how it looks:
Image

Thank you.

Patrick
GabrielBarbu
Posts: 2146
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:24 am
Contact: Website

Re: How to update a Static Text via VBScript?

Hello,

Please note that Action Text can only be used with a custom action that runs as Deferred. Your custom action is set as Immediate.

Regards,
Gabriel
Gabriel Barbu
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/

Return to “Common Problems”