efultz
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:59 pm

I have an install process - until recently have used v12 - now I am upgrading to v18.8. I built the MSI but when I run it says I have to have admin rights to run the installer. Thing is - I have admin rights. What is the installer looking at where it does not think I have admin privs?

Catalin
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 2:40 pm

Hello and welcome to our forums,

I am not quite sure I fully understand the issue here.

If possible, could you please give me some more details (attaching a screenshot of the encountered error would help here as well)?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

efultz
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 3:27 pm

The issue I am seeing is attached. My account has admin privs but when I run the installer the first thing it does is tell me I need admin privs
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-10-22 102601.png
Screenshot 2021-10-22 102601.png (63.71KiB)Viewed 5483 times

Catalin
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:06 pm

Hello Edward,

That might be happening due to the "Run only if current user is Admin account" option being checked in the "Launch Conditions" page.

I have checked this on a test machine where the user is an administrator and everything worked as expected. Could you please double check this once again and make sure the user is actually an administrator?

If you do not actually have this requirement (i.e. the user being an administrator), you can disable the option.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

efultz
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:28 pm

attached is screenshot showing my domain account in the administrator group - my install updates service and registry so admin is needed to accomplish those tasks. But since I am already admin why doesn't the installer believe it?
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-10-22 112727.png
Screenshot 2021-10-22 112727.png (12.99KiB)Viewed 5474 times

efultz
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:37 pm

Attached is log from running the installer - hope this helps
Attachments
MSIbe55e.LOG
(86.23KiB)Downloaded 73 times

efultz
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:20 pm

Where is the installer looking to determine whether I have admin privs?

Catalin
Posts: 4522
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Installer Doesn't Think I have Admin Privs

Mon Oct 25, 2021 10:47 am

Hello Edward,

It looks like the "Run only if current user is an Admin account" launch condition verifies whether or not the package is elevated at the moment this is tested for.

This means the user might be an administrator but the package did not yet elevate, meaning the launch condition will fail.

Could you please elevate the setup package and let me know if this is still reproducible?

If you have an MSI, you can elevate it as it follows:

- open an administrator command prompt

- launc the MSI as it follows:

Code: Select all

msiexec /i <path_to_msi>
If you have an EXE, you can elevate it as it follows:

- right click on the EXE --> "Run as administrator"

Additionally, if you build an EXE, you can force the above by going to "Install Parameters" page and checking the "Run as administrator" option.

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Building Installers”