rashikmohamed

Issues with selecting Tomcat Bundle folder

Hi,

I am new to application packaging and I am trying to package a web application using the "Tomcat Web Application Setup Wizard". I have the "Tomcat Apache" with the .war file inside the webapps folder. When the wizard asked me to locate the "Tomcat Bundle Folder" I located the Path "C:\Program Files\Tomcat Apache" (The Parent folder) but the "Advanced Installer" gives me an error msg "The service.bat and server.xml files are missing". I am unable to understand the issue. Could anyone please help me?

My requirement is to install the following components,
1. Install JRE if not installed in the machine
2. Deploy the tomcat apache server and the war file into the same
3. Install Oracle XE

Any kind of documentation to package as per the requirement above would be great.

I am kind of stuck with this issue for quite sometime and I have to show a demo setup to my boss ASAP. Please help!!!! :oops:

Thanks in advance
Rashik
Daniel

Re: Issues with selecting Tomcat Bundle folder

Hi Rashik and welcome to Advanced Installer forums,

Please keep in mind that in the Tomcat bundle folder field you should select a binary distribution of Apache Tomcat, not the installation folder of Apache Tomcat from your machine. You have to download a binary distribution of Apache Tomcat and use its extraction folder for Tomcat bundle folder field.

You could also have the Apache Tomcat added as a prerequisite in a normal Advanced Installer project type. Currently our "Tomcat Web Application" wizard can only bundle Apache Tomcat to your package. In our upcoming Advanced Installer releases the "Tomcat Web Application" wizard will have the option to add Apache Tomcat as a prerequisite.

If you have any questions let me know.

Regards,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
rashikmohamed

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for your reply