ales.hrodek
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Test Internet Connection

At least you have experienced some delay. Difference between 2min and 15sec could be network timeouts as network is only variable between your test and my. Now I know it's somehow reproducible and what are conditions as user also can experience this.

To you message solution. I am using Azure theme so as additional step I added ActionText subscribed control to dialog as it's not present by default in used theme.
Eusebiu
Posts: 4931
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Test Internet Connection

Hi Ales,

Indeed, the network is the only variable. We will try to find the problem and improve it in the future, if possible.

I'm glad you managed to add the text message.

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Collins
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:57 pm

Re: Test Internet Connection

It seems that the LaunchCondtion name for this has changed. I only see "AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION" and not (AI_INTERNET_CONNECTION <> "AI_INET_CON_SUCCESS").

Would the steps be the same, by deleting "AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION" from LaunchCondition and using the value of "AI_INET_CON_SUCCESS" or has the value changed as well?
Eusebiu
Posts: 4931
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Test Internet Connection

Hi,

AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION is actually the name of the property that is set when an internet connection is available.

So, if you want to set a condition based on the internet connection availability, you can delete the "AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION" condition from the "LaunchCondition" table and use the property with the same name as a condition (e.g. AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION).

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Collins
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:57 pm

Re: Test Internet Connection

Eusebiu wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:24 pm Hi,

AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION is actually the name of the property that is set when an internet connection is available.

So, if you want to set a condition based on the internet connection availability, you can delete the "AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION" condition from the "LaunchCondition" table and use the property with the same name as a condition (e.g. AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION).

Best regards,
Eusebiu
What if I want to condition on the success or failure of the connection? Would I still use "AI_INTERNET_CONNECTION" = AI_INET_CON_SUCCESS or AI_INET_CON_FAILED?
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Test Internet Connection

Hello,

You should use a condition like this:

Code: Select all

AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION
for a successfully internet connection and

Code: Select all

NOT AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION
for a failure.

Let us know if this doesn't work.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Collins
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:57 pm

Re: Test Internet Connection

Daniel wrote: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:44 am Hello,

You should use a condition like this:

Code: Select all

AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION
for a successfully internet connection and

Code: Select all

NOT AI_DETECTED_INTERNET_CONNECTION
for a failure.

Let us know if this doesn't work.

All the best,
Daniel
Perfect, thank you.
Catalin
Posts: 6600
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Test Internet Connection

You are always welcome, Collins.

Glad we could help.

All the best,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Building Installers”