amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Registry value appended

Hi,

i have to append a value to a registry key; i TRIED with the option "Prepend to value" present in Advanced Installer but the key is transformed from REG_SZ to REG_MULTI_SZ and the application (third-party) doesn't recognize the value.

What is and alternative way to do the same thing "manually" with Advanced Installer?

Thx in advance
Alessandro
Horatiu
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

First of all, I would like to welcome you to the Forums.

If you want to keep the Registry value type REG_SZ and solve your issue, follow these steps:

1. Go to the side panel in Custom Behavior -> Search
3. Select the New Search Wizard to create a Registry Search for your value. Make sure you select to Retrieve the raw value
4. Go to Registry, and create all the required Keys and the value you want to change. Be sure that the value has the same name as the one in your Registry
5. Select the Replace existing value option, if it is not already
6. In the Data section of your value put the property of the registry search for example [RESULT_PROPERTY], and afterward write what you want to prepend or append
(example: ValueToPrepend[RESULT_PROPERTY]ValueToAppend)

Note that the value you need to search for needs to be REG_SZ, not REG_MULTI_SZ. So make sure you didn't change the value in your computer's registry with the previous installations.

Let me know if you need any more help.

Best regards,
~Horatiu
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Thanks Horatiu,

it works but how to avoid to PREPEND my value at each update?


Thanks
Alessandro
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

To avoid the prepend operation during update you can condition the registry value component NOT to install on an upgrade or patch installation. Follow these steps please:
1. go to "Registry" page and right click on the reg value item
2. choose the "Go To Component" context menu option
3. in "Organization" page add the following condition on the selected component:

Code: Select all

NOT (OLDPRODUCTS OR PATCH)
Let us know if this helped.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Hi,

I implemented the solution you suggested.
It works but on a notebook i tested Setup stop on the step "Searching for installed applications...." and after some minutes the setup exit with "Setup ended prematurly...".

Looking to processes, msexec use CPU and RAM increase quickly.

What could be the problem?

Attached the log

Thx Alessandro
Attachments
INGWorksInstallazione5.4.5Errore_Log.txt
(37.98 KiB) Downloaded 220 times
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Hi, i found that the SEARCH of a registry value generate and endless loop because the key is created (from the setup itself) REG_MULTI_SZ instead of REG_SZ.

As you can see from the screenshot the key is configured to be created as REG_SZ.

Can someone help us?

Thanks
Alessandro
Attachments
Cattura3.PNG
Cattura3.PNG (41.03 KiB) Viewed 7053 times
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

It seems there is a failure of our extended search support from "Search" page. I don't know why though. Can you please send us the .aip (project file) to support at advancedinstaller dot com so we can investigate its settings?

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Sent!

Thx
Alessandro
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

Thank you for your sent file. We tested the scenario and replicated the behavior using AI 9.6.1 version. It seems the error when you have an extended search configured for a registry value and at install time the related registry value is not of string type on local machine (e.g. it is not of REG_S type).

It seems this was an Advanced Installer issue in our older versions, but was fixed in the latest application versions. Can you please rebuild your setup project using our latest version of Advanced Installer (14.5.2) and test again the setup installation?

If your maintenance doesn't cover our latest application updates just download and install AI 14.5.2 on a test machine and run it in trial mode. Rebuild and test again the setup project and let us know if the issue no more occurs using our latest version. If so, we will extend for free your maintenance plan so you have access to our latest app update.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

I'm trying to open our setup project with version 14.5.2 but I get the error attached.


Thx
Alessandro
Attachments
Cattura.PNG
Cattura.PNG (26.61 KiB) Viewed 7030 times
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

This happens because your setup project contains a reference to the Windows Installer 3.1 prerequisite. This prerequisite is no longer supported by latest versions of Advanced Installer and it is obsolete.

Can you please proceed like this:

1. open your AIP project in AI 9.6.1
2. go to "Prerequisites" page and delete the Windows Installer 3.1 prerequisite
3. save the project
4. open the project in AI 14.5.2 and rebuild it

Let us know if this helped.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

It's ok with your suggestion....in meanwhile i have resolved opening the .aip project with a text editor, deleting the line corresponding to Windows Installer 3.1, saving and reopening with AI :).

But now, with new compiled setup, i get the attached error when i run it.
Translated in english should be something like:
"Insufficient memory to run the command"
"Installation not completed"

Try to recompile several times...or clean the cache directory...without success.

Thx
Alessandro
Attachments
InstallationError.png
InstallationError.png (14.23 KiB) Viewed 7013 times
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

This seems to be a launch condition message. You can check the launch conditions you defined in "Launch Conditions" page of your project.

However, please send us again the new version of the AIP (project file) and a verbose log of the installation to support at advancedinstaller dot com so we can investigate them.

Thank you,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
amannini
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Registry value appended

Hi,

log and project sent by email.

Note that we used only standard launch conditions (not custom) and the message we get...seems to come from AI.....it is only translated in our language Italian but it means something like "Not enough memory to run the command"...

Please let us know.
Thx
Alessandro
Daniel
Posts: 8238
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Registry value appended

Hello Alessandro,

As I replied you by email please try to redo the steps from my previous reply on a working backup copy of your project saved with AI 9.6.1 and let us know if this worked.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Building Installers”