gennady46

Visual Studio Application

Tue Dec 14, 2021 3:09 am

I am new to this software advanced installer, not sure where to start. I have a visual studio 2013 windows form application in c#, I have a few folders

and 2 .DLL files it uses, I have a release version .EXE file, I want to create the installer, which would extract all the files into program files for example,

creating a short cut on the desktop, and an icon (which can be double clicked to start) and program which can be uninstalled if desired. Which type of

installer I should create? What type of project?

Get back, thanks in advance.

Catalin

Re: Visual Studio Application

Tue Dec 14, 2021 9:53 am

Hello and welcome to our forums,

For your request, you can either use the "Visual Studio Application" wizzard, which will let you import the application, or you can create a "Professional" project type.

Please let me know if there is anything else I could help you with.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

gennady46

Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:09 am

I just created just to test it, all files and folders and name of the app and contact, very simple to start, it did install, however, no desktop icon and no

short cut menu app on the bottom left, not sure how to do it. Even though i added an icon picture. Also it did install 32 bit version, i want to have an

option for user to install 64 bit as well.

Get back, thanks..

Catalin

Wed Dec 15, 2021 7:26 pm

Hello,

Creating a shortcut with Advanced Installer is fairly easy.

To do so, simply open the project in Advanced Installer, go to "Files and Folders" page and:

- right click on the executable you want to create a shortcut for

- "New shortcut to"

- next to the "Shortcut Folder" field, click on the "..." button and then select the folder where you want the shortcut created, e.g. "Desktop"

- do the rest of configurations (i.e. the shortcut name, etc.)

- click "Ok"