Max_Headroom

Calling ServerRegistrationManager.exe to register a shell extension DLL in Windows

Sun May 01, 2022 12:55 pm

I am just trialing Advanced Installer so I'm a novice with this tool and also a novice developer.

I have created a shell extension for Windows using SharpShell. The creators of SharpShell recommend using their ServerRegistrationManager.exe to register the DLL and that works fine when run in a CMD window with:

Code: Select all

ServerRegistrationManager.exe install shellextension.dll -codebase
I am using the Custom Action "LaunchFile" to call the EXE and moved its execution stage to be after 'Finish Execution'.

I have set the parameters to:

File to launch: [#ServerRegistrationManager.exe]
Command line: install [shellextension.dll] -codebase
Working directory: [Installable_Dir]

I have ticked the option to 'Run as Administrator' but changing this seem to make no difference.

The MSI runs fine and installs and uninstalls all the required files without a problem, but whilst I can see it running the ServerRegistrationManager.exe, the DLL is not registered.

BTW in the "Execution Time" section I get the feeling that I should select 'After the system has been successfully modified (commit)' , but this and the other options are greyed out so that 'Immediately' is selected and can't be changed.

What am I doing wrong?

Liviu

Re: Calling ServerRegistrationManager.exe to register a shell extension DLL in Windows

Mon May 02, 2022 7:21 am

Hello and welcome to our forums,

Please note that we have predefined support to register DLL files.

To achieve that, please have a look on our How do I register a file? FAQ. In the "Files and Folders" page just right click on your file "Properties" --> "Registration" tab.

Hope that helps! Please let me know if you have any questions.

Best regards,
Liviu

Max_Headroom

Re: Calling ServerRegistrationManager.exe to register a shell extension DLL in Windows

Mon May 02, 2022 12:23 pm

Many thanks for the advice.