alext72
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:56 am

Powershell Automation

Hello,

We are trying to create a simple MST file to change the version property.
We tried with a simple MSI :

$adv = New-Object -ComObject AdvancedInstaller
$msi = $adv.LoadProject("C:\Users\username\Desktop\Your Application.msi")
$msi.ProductDetails.Version="1.3"
$msi.SaveAs("C:\Users\username\Desktop\Your Application.mst")

Everytime we hav this error :

Invalid build argument
At C:\Users\user\Desktop\Untitled1.ps1:4 char:1
+ $msi.SaveAs("C:\Users\username\Desktop\Your Application.mst")
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : OperationStopped: (:) [], ArgumentException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.ArgumentException


Could you please guide us in the correct direction ?

Regards,

Alexandre
Catalin
Posts: 6584
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Powershell Automation

Hello Alexandre and welcome to our forums,

I've discussed this with our developer in charge and it looks like this issue was already reported by another colleague, meaning that you have probably discussed this over the e-mail with one of my colleagues.

Please let me know if there is anything else I could help you with and I will gladly assist.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
alext72
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Powershell Automation

Hello Catalin,

Yes I already have sent an email at 'support@advancedinstaller.com' but i didn't have any feedback.
That's why i came here to ask about my problem.
I've double checked my inbox and junk folder and i don't see any reply.

Thanks a lot for your effort.

Regards,
Alexandre
Catalin
Posts: 6584
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Powershell Automation

Hello Alexandre,

You are indeed right.

The email you have sent is indeed marked with "working", but it looks like my colleague only tested and reported this issue without answering the mail just yet.

As for the status, from what I can see, the issue is already over to our QA team, meaning it is fixed.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”