ChrisGue
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:26 pm

Problem "user account already exists"

Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:53 am

Hello,
I use AI 14.1.1 enterprise

On updates the installation faiIs with user account already exists on some computers.
I have a log file attached.

How to fix this?

Thank you,
Chris
Attachments
MSI84fd4.LOG
(786.66 KiB) Downloaded 78 times

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Problem "user account already exists"

Tue Apr 27, 2021 1:39 pm

Hello Chris,

Thank you for providing the log file.

After investigating it, it looks like the issue is not related with the fact that the user may already exist on some machines.
MSI (c) (10:68) [08:55:59:472]: PROPERTY CHANGE: Adding FileInUseProcess property. Its value is 'The following applications should be closed before continuing the install:{&^&}5988{&^&}PureSync, a file and folder synchronization and backup tool, by Jumping Bytes{&^&}{&^&}{&^&}{&^&}{&^&}{&^&}'.
It looks like a file that the setup tries to update is kept in use, therefore the update can not be completed.
MSI (c) (10:AC) [08:56:13:387]: PROPERTY CHANGE: Modifying AppsShutdownOption property. Its current value is 'All'. Its new value: 'None'.
It also looks that the user has chosen to not close the applicaiton in the "FileInUseDialog".


Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ChrisGue
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:26 pm

Re: Problem "user account already exists"

Sat May 15, 2021 9:02 pm

PureSync is the program being updated by my installation.
And usually this works fine when PureSync.exe is still running while the (update)-installation is started.
The dialog 'file in use' is shown, an the installation continues regardless which option the users selects without error.

I could never reproduce that error myself.
So there must be a problem on these computers on which this error occurs.
So any idea how to solve this?

Chris

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Problem "user account already exists"

Wed May 19, 2021 6:36 pm

Hello Chris,
And usually this works fine when PureSync.exe is still running while the (update)-installation is started.
Perhaps it is not the .EXE itself that is causing the issue, but some other file that is kept in use by the .EXE.

An example would be this - your .EXE is running and at the moment when the upgrade happens it tries to write to a .TXT file that is scheduled for upgrade. In this scenario, the "File in use" dialog will pop-up.

The recommended approach in this case is explained in the "How to detect or stop a process" article.

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

ChrisGue
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:26 pm

Re: Problem "user account already exists"

Tue May 25, 2021 9:43 pm

but why should a running exe cause the error :
"user account already exists"
I do not understand how this might be connected
As far s I understand this is something else, but what
It seems the the installation wants to add an user? Why?

thanks, Chris

Catalin
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Problem "user account already exists"

Fri May 28, 2021 11:11 am

Hello Chris,

This is strange, indeed.

Unfortunately, I can not really say why this is happening.

In order for me to further investigate this, could you please forward me the following resources:
  • a copy of the old AIP file
  • a copy of the new AIP file
  • a download link for the older setup
  • a download link for the newer setup
  • perhaps a test case, if required
by e-mail at support at advancedinstaller dot com?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”