sfaust
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:57 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

You guys need to advertise that this is available better! This is one of those small but amazing features! it's not obvious on the UI that you can do this, and it took me a little googling to find it but once I did I was very pleased :)
Dan
Posts: 4524
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

Hello,

Yes, this option is available in Advanced Installer.

To retrieve the Product Version from a file (EXE file for example), right-click in the edit box and select the “Set version from file...” menu item. This will allow you to select a file from Files and Folders page. You can change the source file by clicking the [ ... ] button in the edit box. See below:
SetVersionFromFile.png
SetVersionFromFile.png (24.47 KiB) Viewed 47118 times
The version must be contained by the file metadata, not as a string in a text file.

You can revert to a simple string value by right-clicking in the edit box and selecting the “Set version to string value” menu item.

Best regards,
Dan
Dan Ghiorghita - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
sfaust
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:57 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

yes I see that now, it's just no obvious from the UI that it's there as it just looks like a text box and I didn't think to right click it. Maybe there could be a button on the right that says 'from file' or something like that...
Dan
Posts: 4524
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

Hello,

This improvement has been added in version 13.1 of Advanced Installer released on July 19th, 2016.

Best regards,
Dan
Dan Ghiorghita - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
jasoncd
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

This is a great feature. Can it be extended to Microsoft Store projects? I'm currently using a Professional Project instead to avoid the need to write script to sync the version. The Store project is preferred, though, due to its simplicity.
Catalin
Posts: 6732
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

Hello Jason,

Not quite sure I fully understand your scenario here.

If possible, could you please give me some more details - maybe an example, too?

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
jasoncd
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

An MSI project has a window where you select to sync the version number from an EXE. A Store project has no such window.
Catalin
Posts: 6732
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Useful to have option to get Product Version from main .exe

Hello Jason,

Thank you for the followup on this!

I have added this on our TODO list of improvements and hopefully this will be implemented in a future version of Advanced Installer.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Feature Requests”