MGS
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 9:52 am

Remember the last used build config

Hi,

I open my current project in Advanced Installer, then select a specific build configuration and create an installer using this menu:
build_configs.png
build_configs.png (5.11 KiB) Viewed 1732 times
And the next time I reopen Advanced Installer it forgets the last used build configuration (thus the menu above again has the initial build config. selected) and when I hit run it uses the wrong build configuration by default as a result. This is really not optimal. Can you change this behavior?

All the best,
Johannes
Catalin
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

Hello Johannes,

If possible, could you please give me some more details about this?

I have done some tests and it looks like the default opton is "Build All" and that is what the option is reset to after closing and reopening Advanced Installer.

However, in your case, it seems like that's not the case and that a default build is selected.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
MGS
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 9:52 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

Hello Catalin,

So I have 8 build configurations. Per default, when opening the .aip file, always the third one is selected in the build menu. So when I e.g. build the fifth build config, then close the .aip file, then reopen it, the third one is selected again in the build menu. What I would need is that the fifth build config is selected in this case instead.
build_configurations.png
build_configurations.png (12.08 KiB) Viewed 1721 times
The screenshot above was created right after opening the .aip file. For me "Build All" is not the default build configuration. Nonetheless, having "Build All" as the default on opening a project would be not optimal for me given that on our build system only the files necessary for a single build configuration are generated. So it would be beneficial if the last used build configuration is always saved when closing the .aip file.

Hope this helps, let me know if it's more understandable now.

Best regards,
Johannes
Catalin
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

Hello Johannes,

Thank you for your followup on this!

I have added this on our TODO list of improvements and hopefully it will be added in a future version of Advanced Installer.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Catalin
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

Hello Johannes,

This improvement has been added in version 21.9 of Advanced Installer.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
MGS
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2022 9:52 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

Hello Catalin,

Awesome, that was quick, thanks for letting me know! :D

Best regards,
Johannes
Catalin
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Remember the last used build config

You are always welcome, Johannes! :D

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Feature Requests”