cmconti
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2024 5:00 pm

Prerequisite checkboxes checked, even when action is 'Skip'

21.5
forgive me if this is a duplicate of viewtopic.php?f=2&t=51685

We have a number of pre-install prerequisites which we select from the pre-defined list and uncheck the continue if not installed option, but at install time the UI behavior of the dialog is inconsistent.

When the item is already installed, the action is set to 'Skip, but:
[*] for .net 4.8.1 the check box is disabled and unchecked
[*] for .net 8.0.2 (and everything else I've tested, including custom prerequisites ) the check box is disabled but checked

it would seem if the prerequisite is installed and marked as 'Skip' it should be unchecked, like .net 4.8.1 is.
Prerequisite.png
Prerequisite.png (27.25 KiB) Viewed 6692 times
FWIW, 19.5 does not seem to exhibit the same behavior
Prerequisite195.png
Prerequisite195.png (21.31 KiB) Viewed 6692 times
Chris
Attachments
SampleInstallers.zip
(10.03 KiB) Downloaded 89 times
Catalin
Posts: 6739
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Prerequisite checkboxes checked, even when action is 'Skip'

Hello Chris,

Thank you very much for providing the sample project.

Upon testing this, I can indeed confirm the behavior.

I have forwarded this to our development team.

In the meantime, I have noticed that this works as expected if you check the "Framework" option for the .NET Runtime prerequisite.

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
cmconti
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2024 5:00 pm

Re: Prerequisite checkboxes checked, even when action is 'Skip'

Are you saying check the 'framework' option for the net8 pre reqs (and custom prereqs too?) to get the checkboxes to show as empty when the pre-req is already installed? The option is already checked for net481
Catalin
Posts: 6739
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Prerequisite checkboxes checked, even when action is 'Skip'

Hello Chris,

Yes, that is exactly what I'm saying.

As per my observations so far, it looks like this behavior does not exhibit when the "Framework" option is checked.

I've noticed this by observing the behavior for .NET Framework 4.8.1 which does not have the same outcome.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
Catalin
Posts: 6739
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: Prerequisite checkboxes checked, even when action is 'Skip'

Hello Chris,

This has been fixed in version 21.7 of Advanced Installer.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”