Error 1638 "Another version of this product is already.

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Mike

Error 1638 "Another version of this product is already.

Postby Mike » Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:20 pm

Subsequent .msi files created with Advanced Installer do not install over old ones. To reproduce:

1) Create an .msi file with Advanced Installer
2) Install the .msi file.
3) Remove the .msi file from the Advanced Installer project directory
4) Click on the Build button to create a new .msi file
5) Install the .msi file on the same PC

The result is that I get error 1638 "Another version of this product is already installed". I then have to remove the old one before installing the new one.

Mike Bresnahan

Cata
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:37 am
Contact:

Postby Cata » Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:22 pm

If you want the generated MSI package to automatically upgrade older versions of the product, you need to:

a) check the corresponding checkbox on the Install Parameters page
b) Allow Advanced Installer to generate a new Product Code when changing the Product Version.
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Mike

Postby Mike » Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:40 pm

Ah ok. So each time I generate a .msi file for a new release, I need to change the Product Version. That makes sense.

Mike Bresnahan

Guest

Postby Guest » Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:23 pm

How do I recreate an exact duplicate of an MSI file? For example, let's say I lost the MSI file for a particular release of my product. How do I create a new MSI file that will behave exactly the same as the previous one? I can't simply rebuild the MSI file because I am then confronted with error 1638 "Another version of this product is already installed".

Cata
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:37 am
Contact:

Postby Cata » Sun Dec 07, 2003 12:45 pm

You can't. Each MSI generated by Advanced Installer has a globally unique ID.

This is by design. The alternative (deciding when to generate a new GUID and when not to) is much more error prone and fragile.

In conlusion, you should never lose releases. Just like with your CVS tree, archive and save everyhing in redundant safe stores.

Regards,
Cata
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Nate

Uninstall from Control Panel

Postby Nate » Tue Jan 06, 2004 9:24 pm

I found this thread because I found myself in the same situation. Unable to upgrade, remove, or install because I lacked the msi file. I ended up having to edit the registry to remove it. Why does my application not show up in the Windows "Add/Remove Programs" utility on Control Panel? I looked for documentation on this and found nothing.

Also - the docs say to allow Advanced Installer to automatically generate the version number if I check "Automatically Upgrade Older Versions". Yet no mention is made of how to do this. Is "Product Code" the same as "Product Version"? You can't leave it blank, is there a magic value to cause AI to create a new product code?

Cata
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:37 am
Contact:

Postby Cata » Wed Jan 07, 2004 8:54 am

Hi Nate,

You should be able to uninstall an installed program even if you lost the original MSI by going to Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs. If your program is NOT listed there, then that is a bug. Please send us a .aip that generates the problem.

The Product Code is different from the Product Version. Advanced Installer prompts you to generate a new Product Code every time the Product Version is changed. You can change the Product Version in the Product Details page.

Regards,
Cata
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

michaelmross
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 2:49 pm
Location: Boston, USA
Contact:

possible bug in automatic upgrade

Postby michaelmross » Fri Jan 09, 2004 3:43 pm

Cata,
This is a heads up - I'm not certain about it, but I think you should know. There may be a problem with replacing the existing program when you increment the product code. I've found two situations - in both cases AI appears to have done a successful install. However, in one case (on XP), the old version of the app was not replaced. In the other case (2000), the new version was installed but the old one is left also.
I haven't done extensive testing so I can't be sure. In the meantime, I think it's wise to advise end-users always to uninstall first.
-Michael

Cata
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:37 am
Contact:

Postby Cata » Sat Jan 10, 2004 9:55 am

Hi Michael,

Thanks for the heads up. I am not sure this relates with the previous poster's problem, but it must be investigated as well.

It would be very helpful if you could send us the .aip and the steps to reproduce the problem so we can start working on it and get it fixed. Best regards,

Cata
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Cata
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:37 am
Contact:

Postby Cata » Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:33 pm

Michael, thanks for letting us know about this. We found the problem and solved it. The fix will be included in the next version. What happened was that the Version field of the File table was empty instead of storing the correct verision.

Cata
Catalin Rotaru - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

rileydog
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:00 am

Re: Error 1638 "Another version of this product is already.

Postby rileydog » Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:35 pm

hi Cata,

michaelmross wrote:This is a heads up - I'm not certain about it, but I think you should know. There may be a problem with replacing the existing program when you increment the product code. I've found two situations - in both cases AI appears to have done a successful install. However, in one case (on XP), the old version of the app was not replaced. In the other case (2000), the new version was installed but the old one is left also.
I haven't done extensive testing so I can't be sure. In the meantime, I think it's wise to advise end-users always to uninstall first.


I seem to have the same problem. I have version 7.1.3. has this problem been solved in this version?

thanks

Cosmin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Error 1638 "Another version of this product is already.

Postby Cosmin » Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:16 am

Hi,

The problem to which you replied was solved a long time ago (the post is from January 2004). Can you please give me more details about the problem you are encountering?

Regards,
Cosmin
Cosmin Pirvu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube


Return to “Common Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest