TheBoss
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:16 pm

Checking for .NET 2 installation? - Pre-requisite?

Hi,

Firstly... great program. Secondly...

I write programs based around .NET 2.0 and this is a minimum requirement of users wishing to install my programs. Is there a way to check for this as a pre-requisite? Is it anything to do with:

MsiNetAssemblySupport

Please can someone provide an example.

Cheers.
Ionut
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Hi,

There are several ways to determine what versions of the .NET Framework are available on the target machine, including the Windows Installer Property "MsiNetAssemblySupport" (which is set to the latest version of "Fussion.dll"). However, you cannot use this Property when checking for a Prerequisite because Windows Installer is not running at that time (the EXE bootstrapper is).

Therefore, you can use the Predefined .NET Framework Prerequisite which checks the version of "mscoree.dll". In order to do this:

1. Switch to the Media page, "Prerequisites" tab and click the "Add" button, then select ".NET Framework" from the pop-up menu.

2. In the "New Prerequisite" dialog select the "Location" of this Prerequisite: a file included in your package, an URL or an Open Site.

3. Select the "Install Conditions" tab and in the "Minimum" text field enter "2.0".

Regards,
Denis
Denis Toma
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/
TheBoss
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:16 pm

Thanks...

I guess i can't actually do this, as i only have the free version :( Thanks all the same...
Ionut
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Hi,

Prerequisites are available only for Professional and Java project types (select "File -> New", then choose the desired project type).

Regards,
Denis
Denis Toma
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/
mfischler
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:00 am

Hi Denis,

I followed your instructions in this thread for running the prerequisite check for .NET Framework 2.0. I run the installer and I don't see any checking take place.

On my Prerequisites tab it says
Display Name: .NET Framework
Min. Ver.: 2.0
File/URL: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
(the link to the 2.0 framework redistributable package)

Ideally, I want to just include the package (dotnetfx.exe) as part of the installer, and the installer just checks to see if NET 2 is installed and if not, will launch into the NET 2 install. I can't get the prereq functionality working, however. If I can get this working soon, you guys will get a quick sale on the professional version from me :)

Thanks!
--Matt
Ionut
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Hi,
File/URL: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
(the link to the 2.0 framework redistributable package)
This is actually an "Open Site", since the redistributable package "dotnetfx.exe" can be downloaded from this page (the link does not point directly to the file).
Ideally, I want to just include the package (dotnetfx.exe) as part of the installer
You can do this by selecting "File In Package" in the "Location" combobox (from the "Edit Prerequisite" dialog). Then select the file from your disk.
I can't get the prereq functionality working, however.
The Prerequisite wizard is not invoked if the required version of "mscoree.dll" is found on the target system. On your system, browse to the "Windows\System32" folder and determine the version of the file "mscoree.dll" (using the "Properties" context-menu item).

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Denis
Denis Toma
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/
mfischler
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:00 am

Thanks for the advice, Denis, but still no luck.

With .NET 2 uninstalled there is no mscoree.dll at all. When I run my installer with the prerequisite check for NET 2, the prerequisite wizard is not invoked as it should be.

--Matt
Ionut
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Hi Matt,

This is really odd, since I have tested the .NET Prerequisite check myself and several of our users have successfully integrated it in their packages. Have you tried to reproduce this problem on other systems?

Please send an AIP file that exhibits this problem to support at advancedinstaller dot com so I can investigate this issue. Also send the generated MSI package (or provide an URL from where I can download it).

Regards,
Denis
Denis Toma
Advanced Installer Team
http://www.advancedinstaller.com/

Return to “Common Problems”