Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:18 pm

Dear Advanced Installer Support Team,

After upgrading one of our .aip projects to use Advanced Installer 13.6 instead of 12.8, a Launch Condition started to fail. In our project we have a property (IS_REQUIRED_PRODUCT_INSTALLED), this property gets a value from a registry search (in Custom Behavior -> Search tab we´re trying to retriever the raw value of a regkey). IS_REQUIRED_PRODUCT_INSTALLED is used at Launch Conditions -> Custom tab as a condition, we have a single entry there looks like:

Condition = IS_REQUIRED_PRODUCT_INSTALLED
Description = The required product is not installed.

So far (until we upgraded AI to 13.6), this Launch Condition worked fine, but since the upgrade we always get "The required product is not installed." message, so the installation is getting blocked.

Could you please tell us what you changed in AI 13.6?

Best regards,
Zsolt

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:55 pm

Hello Zsolt,

I'm not so sure why this happens. Can you please send us to support at advancedinstaller dot com the AIP (project file) saved with AI 13.6 and the one saved with 12.8 so we can investigate this on our side?

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:27 pm

Hi Daniel,

I´ve just sent the projects to you.

Best regards,
Zsolt

Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:03 am

Hi Daniel,

In the meantime until you fix this problem, could you please advise a workaround for us? We rather would like to go for a workaround instead of downgrading back to AI 12.8.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Zsolt

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:48 pm

Hello Zsolt,

First of all I want to thank you for helping us to isolate this issue. This is indeed an Advanced Installer issue. The issue is generated by our Enhanced User Interface feature which doesn't correctly pass public properties from Wizard Dialogs Stage to the Install Executions Stage when those properties are not defined in the "Install Parameters" page (i.e. "Property" table of the MSI installation database). What happens is that such properties are not passed to the Install Execution Stage, thus being non-existent (empty) during this stage.

A fix will be available in a future version of our application. We will update this forum thread as soon as a fix will be available.

Until then, the general workaround is to define the public properties in our "Install Parameters" page.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:32 am

Hi Daniel,

Do you have a fixture for this issue yet? It´d be highly appreciated to get something in the near future. Due to this issue we still have to use AI 12.8 for some of our projects which is annoying. We´d like to upgrade to the latest verion of AI to get all your other fixture, but we can´t.

Best regards,
Zsolt

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:02 am

Hello Zsolt,

Unfortunately there is no fix available for this issue at the moment nor I can give you an estimate for this. As soon as we have an update we will let you know.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:27 pm

Hi Daniel,

Any news about this problem? It´s been already a long time since you managed to reproduce it on your side and we´d really like to upgrade further from AI 12.8.

Best regards,
Zsolt

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:07 pm

Hello Zsolt,

After further investigating your reported issue our development team found out that this issue is caused by an Advanced Installer limitation. More exactly the issue appear because of the value of the properties (whose name starts with underscore char) are not always preserved from Wizards Dialogs Stage to the Install Execution Stage.

To avoid this limitation you will have to rename your property name from:

Code: Select all

_IS_INSTALLED_PRODUCT

to

Code: Select all

IS_INSTALLED_PRODUCT

We apologize for this inconvenience.

Let us know if this helped.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Zsolt Kollarits
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Zsolt Kollarits » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:26 am

Hi Daniel,

This trick seems to be working, thanks for the tip. However we found another small problem: it's not possible to upgrade our project from 12.8 to 13.6 due to an error.

So far our .aip was built by 12.8, now we opened it by 13.6 and tryed to save it, but an error dialog appears every time. We also tried to open it by a newer AI (14.4) and save it by that project, but the outcome is the same: the .aip cannot be saved.

Could you please have a look at our .aip? I'm sending it over via mail.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Zsolt

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:53 pm

Hello Zsolt,

Thank you for your sent file. I've replicated the error and this is currently under investigation.

As soon as we have a resolution I'll get back to you.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Daniel
Posts: 6536
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Launch condition is not working after upgrading Advanced Installer from 12.8 to 13.6

Postby Daniel » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:23 am

Hello Zsolt,

Thank you for your patience. We further investigated your setup project and it seems it has somehow reached an invalid state for upgrade to a newer version of AI. Unfortunately, we weren't able to isolate any scenario which could lead to this project upgrade error.

We fixed the project and sent you by email a fixed copy of it. If there is anything else we can assist you with just let us know.

All the best,
Daniel
Daniel Radu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube


Return to “Common Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest