Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Post Reply
henrik.g.j.eriksson
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 1:14 pm

Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Post by henrik.g.j.eriksson » Tue May 14, 2019 1:26 pm

Hi,
I introduced new 'Builds".
Previous there was 1 default build in the project, and no build specified when the installer was built.

Now we added a 'feature'. And additional "'build' in which features included are specified.

I have meet 2 issues with this.

1. There are custom actions being defined, to install something in the background. This custom action is no longer executed, when executing the installers being made with specified 'build'. How to include the custom actions?

2. The 'publisher' have disappeared. It is no longer our company as a verified publisher, the field is empty.

How to manage this?

3. Is there another smoother way to handle 'feature ' changes, without going through the management of 'builds' and having to specify the 'build' metadata in several places. Or a way to inherit all the 'build' metdata from another build?

Many questions in one, sorry for that.

henrik.g.j.eriksson
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 1:14 pm

Re: Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Post by henrik.g.j.eriksson » Tue May 14, 2019 1:52 pm

To clarify regarding 2. "Publisher"

In the .aip file the publisher field is specified in 'product details' -> 'publisher'
But it is not visible/available upon the execution of the installer, when the build is specified.

Then the publisher is "unknown"

"Do you want to allow application from 'unknown' publisher" to...."

henrik.g.j.eriksson
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 1:14 pm

Re: Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Post by henrik.g.j.eriksson » Tue May 14, 2019 4:18 pm

Now enabled digital signing from inside advanced installer, which should resolve the Unknown publisher issue.
Why it worked before is a mystery.

The question about the 'custom action' remain

henrik.g.j.eriksson
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 1:14 pm

Re: Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Post by henrik.g.j.eriksson » Wed May 15, 2019 9:34 am

What is the connection between 'custom action' and 'builds'?
Is there a correlation between introducing new 'builds' and that 'custom action' stopped working?

Eusebiu
Posts: 4558
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Specified new 'build', unexpected behaviour

Post by Eusebiu » Thu May 16, 2019 2:28 pm

Hi and welcome to our forums.

By default, a custom action should be automatically added to any new build. However, it may not work in one build if the files it references are excluded from that build or if a condition that includes only some specific builds is set on it (e.g. AI_BUILD_NAME="DefaultBuild").

In order to be able to investigate your problem please send me the .AIP (project file), the problematic custom action and buld's name and a verbose log of the installation to support at advancedinstaller dot com?

Best regards,
Eusebiu
Eusebiu Aria - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Post Reply