Hale-

Update Install and Sample Files

Hello.

I've been using your product for a couple of months now (daily) and I really like what it does for me. I used Installshield a few years ago and I found my startup and day-to-day operations better here.

I have one major suggestion and a couple of questions that I haven't found the answer to on your forum.

First the suggestion. I have a doctorate in education and 30 years experience with computer systems so I'm not really a beginner here. With that background I strongly suggest you spend some time with someone is not immersed in MSI and go over your help screens. Time after time I understand all of the words but the meaning doesn't get through. Other times the help simply repeats the items name. I also find critical information missing. Here is one example taken from the Organization Help.

Source Only
The component can only be run from source.
(Since I don't know what the source is describing, "source" as being the "source" doesn't help me much"

Optional
The component can run locally or from source.
(This doesn't help me either. I understand every word. I just don't understand the sentence.)

Transitive
Windows Installer reevaluates the statement from the Condition field after a reinstall.
(Nice words - not much information The Condition field is described as a Boolean expression, but we are never told what kinds for "variables" can be evaluated nor do we have the syntax for the evaluation.)

Please - this feature should be way up there in your priorities.

'nuf - I hope this comment helps.

Now for the questions.