adarshj
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2023 6:11 am

Advanced Installer Updater Multiple command line switches

Hi team,

I'm encountering a problem with the Advanced Installer Updater command line options where I'm trying to do the following

Code: Select all

Updater.exe /silent -url {urlToUpload} -nofreqcheck
I would have expected multiple command line switches such as this to work, but the error code returned is INVALID_COMMAND_LINE (hex: 0xE0000006 / decimal: -536870906) - The command line is not recognized.

When I just do this

Code: Select all

Updater.exe /silent -url {urlToUpload}
It works without any issues.

Can anyone shed any light on what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!
Liviu
Posts: 1048
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Re: Advanced Installer Updater Multiple command line switches

Hello,

I'm afraid the -silent parameter is not compatible with the -nofreqcheck switch.

The first dialog in the Updater Wizard uses the frequency check.

For more details, please refer to the Updater options article.

For example, you can try using the /checknow parameter with the -minuseractions or -startminimized switches.

Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Liviu
________________________________________
Liviu Sandu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube
adarshj
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2023 6:11 am

Re: Advanced Installer Updater Multiple command line switches

Hi Liviu,

Thanks for your response, and sorry for getting back late to you.

Cool I understand why the command I posted wouldn't work. But I seem to have issues running this command. When I introduce the url flag,

Code: Select all

Updater.exe /silentcritical -url {urlToUpload} -nofreqcheck
where the error code returned is INVALID_COMMAND_LINE (hex: 0xE0000006 / decimal: -536870906) - The command line is not recognized.

Would you expect this to work? Thanks.
Liviu
Posts: 1048
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:29 am
Contact: Website

Re: Advanced Installer Updater Multiple command line switches

Hello,

This is quite strange.

We tried the command line and it worked as expected on our side.

Can you please make sure you add the url between quotes?

Updater.exe /silentcritical -url "{urlToUpload}" -nofreqcheck

Best regards,
Liviu
________________________________________
Liviu Sandu - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”