Administrator gets Error 1925 on update

Having trouble running Advanced Installer? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
Post Reply
codemonk3y
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:51 pm

Administrator gets Error 1925 on update

Post by codemonk3y » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:37 pm

Our application is currently installed from a wise installer exe. We have created a small exe that installs the updater service on our clients machines, once they have an administrator around to run it. The service is called, downloads and runs the install correctly for admin and standard users about 90% of the time.

One of our QA people is an administrator on her machine and while trying to update she received an Error 1925. She's an admin, but it claims she does not have sufficient privileges. The install command from our deployment site is: /qn /l*vx %temp%\appinstalllog.txt here's part of the log file too:

Code: Select all

MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Doing action: InstallExecute
Action ended 13:28:06: PublishProduct. Return value 1.
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Running Script: C:\Windows\Installer\MSID758.tmp
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: PROPERTY CHANGE: Adding UpdateStarted property. Its value is '1'.
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Machine policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Rollback\Scripts 3: 2 
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Executing op: Header(Signature=1397708873,Version=500,Timestamp=1129671555,LangId=1033,Platform=0,ScriptType=1,ScriptMajorVersion=21,ScriptMinorVersion=4,ScriptAttributes=0)
Action start 13:28:06: InstallExecute.
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Executing op: ProductInfo(ProductKey={55548772-9D2A-4C2D-84D8-56023DE91F8B},ProductName=myapp,PackageName=myappClientInstall.msi,Language=1033,Version=84218802,Assignment=1,ObsoleteArg=0,,,PackageCode={F0BCD79F-7698-419A-B43B-D35FF906C8EF},,,InstanceType=0,LUASetting=0,RemoteURTInstalls=0,ProductDeploymentFlags=3)
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:837]: Product: myapp -- Error 1925. You do not have sufficient privileges to complete this installation for all users of the machine.  Log on as administrator and then retry this installation.

Error 1925. You do not have sufficient privileges to complete this installation for all users of the machine.  Log on as administrator and then retry this installation.
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:852]: User policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
MSI (s) (2C:60) [13:28:06:852]: Machine policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
Action ended 13:28:06: InstallExecute. Return value 3.
Another question, on a machine where the updates work, the msi adds the product version in the HKLM (which is verified by the update process once the msi install is completed). When we try to test updating from msi version 1.1.0 to msi version 1.1.1 it fails because the product version in the registry does not get updated with version 1.1.1 . If we delete the product version from the registry then the msi version 1.1.1 update works.

Thanks in advance
scott

Bogdan
Posts: 2775
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Administrator gets Error 1925 on update

Post by Bogdan » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:00 am

Hi Scott,

Error 1925 could appear if the UAC is disable on that testing machine. Have you checked that? All installers on machines from Vista onwards start with standard user privileges and elevate during the install process, when you press "Install" button. If the installation is done from an command prompt window, and silent, you must make sure that command prompt window is running elevated, otherwise the installation will also fail.

Regarding the registry entry. Can you please upload a verbose log of the upgrade process? I am not sure why this is happening.

Best regards,
Bogdan
Bogdan Mitrache - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

codemonk3y
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:51 pm

Re: Administrator gets Error 1925 on update

Post by codemonk3y » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:20 pm

She is using windows 7 and has UAC enabled. She gets the UAC prompt when she starts certain applications. Her UAC is set to the 2nd one from the bottom. The install does not launch from a command prompt, it's launched by the update service.

Should I email the verbose log to the support email?

Bogdan
Posts: 2775
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Administrator gets Error 1925 on update

Post by Bogdan » Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:12 pm

Hi,

Can you please give us more details about the small EXE that installs our updater as a service? Are you using our predefined support
to install it as a service
or you have created your own service? I do not understand exactly how you integrated our updater into your Wise installer. Also, what version of Advanced Installer are you using?

Regarding the log, yes, please send it at support at advancedinstaller dot com, along with the aip file too, if possible.

Regards,
Bogdan
Bogdan Mitrache - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Post Reply