othulke
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:51 pm

"Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files" prompt after upgrading to AI 18.4

Wed Jul 21, 2021 3:56 pm

Hi everyone,

after upgrading to AI 18.4 we are being prompted "Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files?" upon each uninstallation.
This dialog was NOT shown in the previous AI versions we used (18.0, 17.3, ...). Apart from opening/saving the setup with 18.4 we have not made any changes.

Why are we suddenly getting this dialog and how do we get rid of it?

Thanks for your help,
Oliver

Catalin
Posts: 4400
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: "Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files" prompt after upgrading to AI 18.4

Wed Jul 21, 2021 5:07 pm

Hello Oliver,

That message is displayed if you configured the "Uninstall Cleanup" on one or more folders in your project.

The respective folder should have a red "X" mark on it in the "Files and Folders" page, i.e.:
UninstallCleanup.png
UninstallCleanup.png (14.37 KiB) Viewed 3741 times



Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

othulke
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: "Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files" prompt after upgrading to AI 18.4

Thu Jul 22, 2021 9:12 am

Hello Catalin,

thanks for the quick reply! We do indeed have folder that are configured for "uninstall cleanup".
However, we haven't seen this dialog in previous AI versions!

How can we get back the old behavior (= disable the dialog and always perform the cleanup)?

Best regards,
Oliver

othulke
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: "Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files" prompt after upgrading to AI 18.4

Thu Jul 22, 2021 1:30 pm

Hi Catalin,

it appears to be sufficient to manually set the properties AI_CLEAN_RESOURCES_USER_PROMPT_BASIC_UI and AI_CLEAN_RESOURCES_USER_PROMPT_FULL_UI to zero. This seems to suppress the unwanted dialog.

Could you please confirm this will not have any other side-effects?

Best regards,
Oliver

Catalin
Posts: 4400
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:49 am

Re: "Would you like to remove [...] settings and temporary files" prompt after upgrading to AI 18.4

Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:56 pm

Hello Oliver,

You are indeed right, this did not happen in previous versions due to a bug that was recently fixed. :D
it appears to be sufficient to manually set the properties AI_CLEAN_RESOURCES_USER_PROMPT_BASIC_UI and AI_CLEAN_RESOURCES_USER_PROMPT_FULL_UI to zero. This seems to suppress the unwanted dialog.
This is true and it has the same effect as using the "Alwayts perform cleanup without prompting the user":
Donotpromptuser.png
Donotpromptuser.png (89.38 KiB) Viewed 3724 times

If you do not want to manually set those properties, you could remove the folder, re-add it and go through the wizard once again, selecting the option from the above screenshot.

Best regards,
Catalin
Catalin Gheorghe - Advanced Installer Team
Follow us: Twitter - Facebook - YouTube

Return to “Common Problems”