This tab allows you to change the project's caching options.
Caching in Advanced Installer
To speedup the build process, Advanced Installer will store and reuse the archives it creates. Next time an archive with the same(unchanged) content will be required by a build process, the stored archive will be reused.
You can enable caching in your project archives by selecting the “Speed up builds by caching unchanged archives” check-box.
This option allows you to specify a particular folder to be used for caching. The information required will be saved in this folder. If you don't specify this option, the default cache location will be a sub-folder into the project folder.
You can disable caching in your project by unselecting the “Speed up builds by caching unchanged archives” check-box.
When disabling the cache, the cached files are deleted.
Advanced Installer has reduced to minimum the number of compressing tasks in order to improve the build performance. For that, it relies on source files dates and size to decide whether the cached archives can be reused by the current build operation.
If the source files are changed the stored archive will be removed and rebuilt.
In order to perform a clean build without reusing cached archives, you can use the “/rebuild” command-line or the Rebuild context menu button from the Builds page.
The OS does not guarantee that the file dates are updated in real time so there might be situations when the cached archives are used even if a source file content have been modified (without changing its dates and size). You should always rebuild the project for your release deployments to make sure that the newest source files are used.